X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Hogezz
    Honorary DSA
    • Jan 2009

Getting a new Laptop!

I'm gonna be looking into getting a new laptop and thought I'd ask you guys for advice... I used to work in IT 5 years ago and knew my stuff back then, but now I feel I'm a little out of the loop... Some of the new RAM types and processor types go a bit above my head.

I'll be postng up some as I find them, as cost is a big factor. I don't think I'll have to spend too much on it, as it will literally be for surfing the web mainly and for using stuff like iTunes for putting music on ipods and other mobiles and saving my photos on the external HDD. So no gaming at all.

My first concern though would be the operating system. I set out to get a machine with windows XP on it, but this is prooving to be more difficult than I thought. I would like to avoid the new windows 7 on the back of the epic failure that was vista. Of course I wouldn't touch vista with a barge pole!! So first question would be, am I overreacting not to trust Windows 7? Or do you guys recon it's safe. Have any of you tryed the new windows?

Also I have my mind set on getting a Windows mashine, as I'm not into Apple and don't want to get anyting else, as the missus will be using it probably more than me, so I don't want to have babysit her while she uses it.
    sigpic
  • norm
    Imperial Guard
    • Jun 2006
    • DSA norm

I know Ratix and I both have Windows 7 and so far no complaints for me and I think him. In fact I haven't had to fire up XP in a few weeks.

As far as laptops. How long do you want it to last?

Comment

• Hogezz
      Honorary DSA
      • Jan 2009

If it's good enough for you two then it's good enough for me! I can get much more powerful machines with Windows 7... One of my friends was telling me as well that softwatre won't be written for XP later on down the line, so I'm swaying more to W7 now.

I'll see whats out there.